Josie Blume's T-Girl Blog











{July 31, 2009}   I dress to please myself

I don’t dress the way most believe I should. I pretty much straddle the line between male and female … an androgynous look. I guess the closet that come to me is from the old movie ‘Annie Hall’. I cover my self up pretty much and try to show very little.

Baggy trousers (many times with the cuff rolled up) and over-sized button down collarless dress shirts. No hats, no ties, no vests … maybe a corduroy sports jacket. Of course sunglasses and I do iron my clothes and not wear them all rumpled.

It does work for work and meetings in the business world as I’ve had no complaints from bosses. Just told that a business atmosphere doesn’t include jeans and that’s fine with me. Jeans are a totally different story anyway. I’m pretty much accepted at work as maybe a little eccentric but presentable. At home and elsewhere I told I should dress up with a shirt and tie. A nice suit. No thank you, it’s a misrepresentation of me.

The Annie Hall look comes closest. It puts me in-between and allows me to be somewhat feminine but not overly or overtly. I have been thinking of stepping a bit further into the feminine realm, but hope not to cross the line fully. I am not ready to ‘come out’ but I am ready to spread my wings a bit more.

I want to start dressing ‘differently’ at work. Although I’m not ready to ask to be allowed to follow the ‘Woman’s Dress Code’ though … I’m ready to express myself more. Just small things: pants, a shirt, my shoes – nothing dramatic: one thing here and there. So my appearance would still be androgynous but slightly feminine, but not dramatically so.

I do so want to wear all the pretty dresses and skirt and tops, all the time. A nice blue or light gray skirt suit would be darling for work.  Well, since that can’t be that person just yet … I’ll go for this in-between look and at least I can feel comfortable and be closer to me.

So I was thinking a pant suit. They can be versatile and work very well in the office. Some would be too overtly feminine and that is not what I’m seeking. Some just look horrible too and I definitely do not want those.  Just something subtle and so I was thinking maybe like these outfits.

Now remember no purse or high heels (schucks!). But if the trousers are baggy enough a small chunky heel shoe (possibly a low wedgie) could be in the offering. The pant length should be long and cover most all the shoe, maybe a small flair leg.

Wearing something like this, I hope, would not put a sign one saying “I’m a woman and what you to realize that!” Both short and long length jackets work well too, I think. And the color would need to be blue, black or maybe a pinstripe. Even though a nice blue or yellow or white outfit appeals to me more.

I could do this subtly.

Maybe one day I will be braver and choose a pretty skirt and blouse with may favorite heels. Maybe like this:



Leave a comment

et cetera